Historic Sites and Monuments Board of Canada. This board, established in 1919, and now operated under the Historic Sites and Monuments Act (RSC 1970, c.H-6, as amended), is the advisory body to the minister of Indian affairs and northern development on the commemoration of persons, places and events of national historical and architectural significance.

The act provides for 17 members - two representatives each from Ontario and Quebec and one each for the eight other provinces, the Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories - appointed by the Governor-in-Council, together with the dominion archivist, one representative from the National Museums of Canada and one from the Indian affairs and northern development department. The board is comprised for the most part of professional historians, archivists and architects.

Immigration Appeal Board. The board was established in 1967 by the Immigration Appeal Board Act (RSC 1970, c.1-3) as a court of record with broad discretionary powers. Changes were effected by the Immigration Act of 1976 in August 1977. The acts provide for the operation of the board and in particular for the legal and administrative processes involved in appeals by individuals against deportation or exclusion, detention and the refusal of admission of sponsored relatives ordered under the provisions of the Immigration Act or regulations. A decision of the board is appealable to the Federal Court of Canada by leave. The board is also empowered to consider applications for redetermination of claim of refugees.

International Boundary Commission. The commission functions by virtue of a 1925 treaty between Canada and the United States and the International Boundary Commission Act (RSC 1970, c.I-19). The commissioners, one for Canada and one for the United States, are empowered to inspect the boundary, to repair, relocate and rebuild monuments, to keep boundary vistas open, to regulate all work within 3.05 metres of the boundary including structures of any kind or earthwork, to maintain at all times an effective boundary line and to determine the location of any point of the boundary line which may become necessary to settle any question that may arise between the two governments. Each country pays the salaries of its commissioner and his assistants and the costs of maintaining the boundary are shared equally. The Canadian section comes under the energy, mines and resources department for administrative purposes but the Canadian commissioner reports functionally to the secretary of state for external affairs. The commissioners meet at least once annually, alternately in Ottawa and Washington.

International Development Research Centre. Established as a public corporation by act of Parliament (RSC 1970, c.21, 1st Supp.), the IDRC is an international organization supported financially by Canada. Its objectives are to initiate, encourage, support and conduct research into the problems of developing countries and into methods of applying and adapting scientific and technical knowledge to their socioeconomic advancement. A chief purpose is to help them develop their own research skills and facilities.

The board of governors consists of a chairman, a president and not more than 19 other members, nine of whom must be Canadian citizens. The IDRC reports to Parliament through the secretary of state for external affairs.

International Fisheries Commissions. The minister of fisheries and the environment reports to Parliament on Canadian participation in the several international fisheries commissions of which Canada is a member

International Joint Commission. This commission was established under a Britain-United States treaty signed in January 1909 and ratified by Canada in 1911 (RSC 1970, c.I-20). The commission, composed of six members (three appointed by the president of the United States and three by the Government of Canada), is governed by five specific articles of the Boundary Waters Treaty of 1909. The commission's approval is required for any use, obstruction or diversion of boundary waters affecting the natural level or flow of boundary waters in the other country; and for any works which, in waters flowing from boundary waters or below the boundary in rivers flowing across the boundary, raise the natural level of waters on the other side of the boundary.

Problems arising along the common frontier are also referred to the commission by either country for examination and report, such report to contain appropriate conclusions and recommendations. Provided both countries consent, questions or matters of difference between the two countries may be referred to the commission for decision.

The commission was given responsibilities under the Canada-United States Great Lakes Water Quality Agreement of 1972 to assist in the implementation of the agreement by co-ordinating the various programs referred to therein and monitoring their effectiveness. The commission established a Great Lakes regional office at Windsor, Ont., staffed by American and Canadian public servants; operating costs are shared equally by the two governments.

The commission reports to the secretary of state for external affairs of Canada and to the secretary of state of the United States.

Interprovincial and Territorial Boundary Commissions. The Manitoba-Saskatchewan Interprovincial Boundary Commission and the Alberta-British Columbia Boundary Commission, each consisting of a